Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

Or

How to create eighteen meals from one chook!

Turning one chicken into eighteen meals!

Turning one chicken into eighteen meals!

I  love a good challenge and one that involves food is even better. I was bleathering to Jayson (aka @VeganBear), over at Earthy’s Portobello store, about how many mouths can you feed from one chicken. Strange to be talking meat with a vegan I know, but Jayson is pragmatic and understands that we are all different and working at Earthy, he does encounter animal stuff. With a scrawny chook I said I could get at least twelve portions from it. “How many could you get from a Linda Dick Vicious but Delicious?” he asked.

Not one to boast about my food stretching prowess, I reckoned I could get at least eighteen portions out of one big bird! And the challenge was set!

Now you must understand this isn’t eighteen different dishes, this is soup, three different mains for four people and two one-portion starters.

Leftovers turned into risotto

Leftovers turned into risotto

To see how I turned one bird into all these dishes, have a wander over to Earthy Foods.

(C) Lea Harris, Off the Eaten Track, 2014.

Leave a Reply

